Training Regions


Map of AGPT training regions


Modified Monash Model (MMM)

The Modified Monash Model (MMM) is a geographical classification that categorises different areas in Australia into seven remoteness categories. It was developed to better target health workforce programs to attract health professionals to more remote and smaller communities. The MMM classifies metropolitan, regional, rural and remote areas according to geographical remoteness, as defined by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), and town size. It replaces the Australian Standard Geographical Classification - Remoteness Areas (ASGC-RA 2006) system.

The MMM is used to determine eligibility for a range of health workforce programs, such as Rural Bulk Billing Incentives, the Workforce Incentive Program (WIP) and health workforce Distribution Priority Areas (DPA).

For more information on MMM visit

Modified Monash Model (MMM) Transition

Health programs will begin transitioning from the 2015 MMM to the updated 2019 MMM as of 1 January 2020. The MMM transition will result in a small number of accredited training practices moving from the General to the Rural Pathway. Some accredited training practices will also move from the Rural to the General Pathway. The updated MMM is derived from 2016 ABS Census data and geography information.

For information about specific training region locations, and any impact this may have on training preferences for the AGPT Program in 2020, please speak to your preferred Regional Training Organisation (RTO).

Modified Monash Model (MMM) Maps effective 1 January 2020

2015 Modified Monash Model (MMM) Maps