Training Organisations

The Department of Health contracts with nine regional training organisations (RTOs), across 11 training regions, throughout Australia to deliver two general practice training programmes in urban, regional and rural areas  the Australian General Practice Training (AGPT) programme and the Overseas-Trained Doctor National Education and Training (OTDNET) programme.

Please note: A competitive tender process was undertaken in 2015 to select the nine RTOs delivering the AGPT programme from 1 January 2016. In addition, new geographic training regions have been established. Please refer to the links below for more information on the training regions. 

Important announcement: New training regions for GP specialist training.

Refer to:

The AGPT programme provides vocational training for medical graduates wishing to specialise in general practice. The two endpoints of the AGPT programme are the Fellowship of the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (FACRRM) and the Fellowship of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (FRACGP).

The OTDNET programme provides overseas-trained doctors (OTDs) with access to education and training that supports the attainment of general medical registration and/or specialist (general practitioner) registration. Enrolments into the OTDNET programme ceased on 19 May 2015. Existing participants of the OTDNET programme will continue to be supported until the end of their learning plans, by the new RTOs. 

Useful links for training organisations